The Congregation Council consists of partners in mission (members) who are elected by the congregation to serve as its leaders. Each Council member is elected to a three-year term and may serve no more than two consecutive terms.

Current members of the Congregation Council are: 

Mark Hearn, President (2020)

Gail Dutcher, Vice-President (2021)

Sherry Whitmarsh, Secretary (2020)

Bill Stark, Chief Financial Officer (2020)

Gary Klintworth (2020), Frank Anders (2021), Dave Rower (2021), Karen Ball (2022), Phil Gomez (2022), Gian Schauer (2022), and Ross Heil (2022), members-at-large. 

All pastors serving under call to the congregation are ex-officio members of the Council.

Questions or comments can be submitted to:

*Parentheses indicate when term ends

Minutes of Congregational Council Meetings:

March 17, 2020

April 21, 2020

May 19, 2020

June 16, 2020

July 21, 2020

August 18, 2020


There has been lots of momentum in our church as we prepare for the calling of our next lead pastor:

The call committee is thankful for the prayers, support, and questions we have received thus far. God has a mighty plan for Saint Matthew. We are honored to be servants in that process!

  • katie lechner


  • gail dutcher

  • Dan fassio

  • marty campbell

  • john goetz

  • phil gomez